Misdemeanor Charges

Connecticut Misdemeanor Lawyers

Maybe you’ve been falsely accused or maybe you simply made a mistake, either way, if you’re facing a misdemeanor charge in Connecticut, you’re facing trouble. If you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor, call for a free consultation with Kocian Law Group.

What is a Misdemeanor?

A misdemeanor is a crime that can be punished with one year or less of jail time. Fines and community service are also common penalties associated with misdemeanor crimes. Although misdemeanors are not as serious as felonies, they can seriously disrupt your daily life.

The types of crimes that commonly result in a misdemeanor charge include:

  • assault
  • petty theft
  • trespassing
  • vandalism

How Does a Misdemeanor Become a Felony?

A court may raise your misdemeanor charge to a felony charge if the degree of your transgression surpasses certain limits. For theft crimes, the dollar amount of the goods allegedly stolen determines whether the crime is a misdemeanor or felony. For example, while stealing a few bottles of shampoo from a grocery store would garner you a misdemeanor, stealing thousands of dollars’ worth of jewelry could get you a felony. Also, in certain cases, the valuation of items stolen is absolutely critical and can mean the difference between being charged with a felony as opposed to a misdemeanor.

Violent crimes may also be charged as felonies rather than misdemeanors. The use of a deadly weapon will upgrade your misdemeanor to a felony quickly. Also, any crime committed against police officers or children can raise the level of your charges.

What Penalties Come With a Misdemeanor Conviction?

The following chart lists the penalties for different types of misdemeanors in Connecticut. Which penalties will apply in your particular case depends on the facts, so it’s wise to speak to an experienced defense attorney as soon as possible once you know you face potential misdemeanor charges.

PENALTIES FOR MISDEMEANORS

Classification of crime

Imprisonment

Fine

Class A Misdemeanor

Up to 1 year

Up to $5,000

Class B Misdemeanor

Up to 6 months

Up to $1,000

Class C Misdemeanor

Up to 3 months

Up to $500

The risk to your finances and your freedom makes fighting a misdemeanor charge worthy of your full attention. Don’t delay. Contact competent legal counsel as soon as possible. At every step in the criminal justice system, you have rights and you have options. Contact the Kocian Law Group to learn what we can do to protect your interests.