DUI/Drunk Driving

Connecticut Drunk Driving Lawyers

Operating Under the Influence [OUI]; Driving Under the Influence [DUI]; Driving While Intoxicated [DWI]

Connecticut has several laws that prohibit driving a motor vehicle or boat while under the influence of alcohol, and the state’s law enforcement officials take enforcing these laws seriously. Police officers and state troopers throughout the State of Connecticut are on constant alert for drivers who may be operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

If you have been charged with Operating Under the Influence (OUI) in Connecticut, you have certain legal rights.  In Connecticut, the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for most drivers is 0.08 percent.  The legal limit for drivers under 18 is 0.02 percent, and for drivers who hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL), the legal limit is 0.04 percent.  However, a driver may be charged with OWI in Connecticut even if his or her BAC is under this limit, if the driver showed signs that he or she could not operate a motor vehicle safely.

If the police suspect you are operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol, you may be stopped on the road. Police base their suspicions on a number of variables, including how you appear to be driving, whether your breath or clothes smell of alcohol, and your behavior during a traffic stop.  Often, drivers who are stopped on suspicion of drunk driving are subjected to one or more field sobriety tests. If you do not meet the testing standards, you will be placed under arrest, transported to the police department, and asked to take a blood alcohol test (usually a breath test, but blood or urine testing may be requested).

You have the legal right in Connecticut to speak with an attorney.  An experienced defense attorney can help you protect the full extent of your legal rights. An attorney can also help you answer a wide range of important questions that will affect your case.   Should you take the breath test?  Should you demand a blood or urine test?  Should you refuse to take any test? What will happen if you refuse?  If you were in an accident, has the hospital staff administered a blood test, and was that test necessary for your medical treatment?    These are all important questions and the skilled attorneys at the Kocian Law Group can help you answer them.

Contact the Connecticut DUI Lawyers at Kocian Law Group

At the Kocian Law Group, we will make sure that you are treated fairly and with respect at every step of your case.  We will fight to protect your rights,  to prevent the suspension of your driver’s license, or to secure a special permit to allow you to keep driving to work, school, and other commitments.  We will guide you through the court system, determine if you are eligible for any pretrial diversionary programs, and help you understand and choose the best options for you.  We will also fight aggressively for the best possible outcome in your case at trial, if needed.

  • Drunk Driving Penalties

People convicted of Operating Under the Influence (OUI) in Connecticut  face several stiff penalties, including incarceration, community service, fines, court costs, license suspension, and increased automobile insurance premiums.  The penalties increase dramatically for those who have previous convictions for OUI in Connecticut or any other state.

If you’ve been charged with OUI in Connecticut, the charges and the consequences for conviction may seem overwhelming. But you’re not alone. You don’t have to face these consequences without effective, competent, experienced legal representation, and you should not try. The experienced Connecticut OUI attorneys at the Kocian Law Group can help.

In addition to the penalties imposed by the court system, those charged with a Connecticut OUI also face administrative suspension by the Department of Motor Vehicles Administrative Per Se Unit.  You will be afforded a hearing, for which you may retain an attorney.  If, during your hearing, you are found to have operated a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or you are found to have refused to submit to blood alcohol testing, you face the following administrative suspension:

Driver's 16 and 17 Years Old

Blood Alcohol Level

First Offense

Second Offense

Third Offense

Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test

18 months

3 years

6 years

Test results of .02 or higher; up to, but not including, .16

1 year

2 years

4 years

Test results of .16 or higher

1 year

30 months

5 years

 

Drivers Between the Ages of 18 to 20

Blood Alcohol Level

 

First Offense

 

Second Offense

 

Third Offense

Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test

1 year

2 years

6 years

Test results of .02 or higher; up to, but not including, .16

6 months

18 months

4 years

Test results of .16 or higher

240 days

20 months

5 years

 

Drivers 21 Years Old and Older

Blood Alcohol Level

 

First Offense

 

Second Offense

 

Third Offense

Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test

6 months

1 year

3 years

Test results of .08 or higher; up to, but not including, .16

90 days

9 months

2 years

Test results of .16 or higher

120 days

10 months

2 1/2 years


If you are arrested for operating a motor vehicle while your license is suspended in connection with a previous OUI charge, you face mandatory incarceration if convicted.

Operating Under the Influence is a very serious charge, with very serious consequences.  If you have been charged with a serious crime, you need a serious attorney.  Kocian Law Group can help.